CFDA Awards: The Olsens v Marc Jacobs

The die is cast for the 2012 CFDA Awards and the nominations are in.

The esteemed Council has decided in its eminent wisdom that Marc Jacobs, ELLE April cover stars, Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen and last year’s winners Proenza Schouler boys Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez are up for awards in the covetable Womenswear Designer of the Year category.

CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg made the announcement last night which also named Alexander Wang, Reed Krakoff and Proenza (once again) as nominees in the accessory category.


Those up for awards in the Swarovski sponsored emerging talent Womenswear category are Joseph Altuzuarra and Max Osterweis of Suno while Tabitha Simmons and Pamela Love will fight it out for the Accessory Design crown.

But while we’ll have to wait until the awards gala on June 4 to discover the outcome in the categories themselves, the honorary awards are shrouded in no such secrecy. Tommy Hilfiger will scoop the Lifetime Achievement Award, Rei Kawakubo the International Award while recipients of the Media Award will be street style dream team Scott Schuman and Garance Doré.

And this year’s Fashion Icon Award goes to Johnny Depp. All that hat wearing has finally paid off.

See ELLE’s April cover stars Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen’s style files

More from ELLE UK: