What's My Weekend: Meringue Girls

The confectionery queens have a brand new cookbook

MOST POPULAR

Friday

Now that our new book  Everything Sweet  is finally out - we actually might have some time to go out at weekends 

 

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

 

After work we treat ourselves to a mani at Cheeky Nails (1st Floor, 64-66 Redchurch Street, London, E2 7DP, urcheeky.com ) then head for a pizza and canal-side, chillout drinks at Crate Brewery, below (The White Building, Unit 7, Queens Yard, E9 5EN, 07834275687, cratebrewery.com).

 

MOST POPULAR

 

 

Their sage and truffle, and sweet potato, stilton and walnut pizzas are a charred, crispy, thin- crust dream! Afterwards we’ll catch a film at the Floating Cinema on the canal (floatingcinema.info)

 

 

 

- a gorgeously summery way to end the evening.

Saturday

 

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

 

 

Saturday morning means brunch. We generally graze through Netil Market (11-25 Westgate Street, E8 3RL, netilmarket.com,) sampling some porky bun delights from Bao (baolondon.com,), then slow- cooked sausage ragu papparedelle pasta from Cooking Cooks (cookingcooks.com) and some spicy fish tacos from Breddos Tacos, above (breddostacos.com).

 

 

 

We then stop by our Meringue Girls (meringuegirls.co.uk) market stall on Broadway Market (Unit 1, Broadway Market Mews, E8 4TS - by the Cat & Mutton pub) to chat to customers, and if it's hot, take a dip in London Fields Lido to refresh. (London Fields West Side, E8 3EU,better.org.uk/leisure/london-fields-lido,)

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

Sunday

 

MOST POPULAR

 

 

Photo: Mikkel Vang

We head early to Chiswick Car Boot ((Burlington Lane, London, W4 3UN, 020 8747 0031 chiswickcarbootsale.com, First Sunday of every month), where we buy heaps of our vintage food styling props. We are absolute car boot sale fiends, and this is by far the best in London for quality stuff. Then we give Gus, Alex’s Boston Terrier, below, a lovely long walk. There is a crazy meet-up of Boston Terriers, which moves from park to park, with more than 40 Bostons go wild together! (meetup.com/londonbostonterrier)

 

 

 

Dinner is at Granger and Co, above (50 Sekforde Street, EC1R 0HA, grangerandco.com, 02072519032) for their dreamy spinach & ricotta gnudi, chili pork belly and fried calamari with green papaya – quite a foodie weekend.

 

 

 

Both trained chefs, Stacey and Alex formed the Meringue Girls three years ago, and have their very own bakery in Broadway Market, Hackney. Already supplying to Selfridges, Harvey Nichols, Fortnum & Mason and Jamie Oliver’s Recipease, they have worked on events with the likes of Jimmy Choo, McQueen and Elizabeth Arden.

 

 

 

 

The girls run fun hands-on meringue-making masterclasses in their bakery. (Unit 1, Broadway Market Mews, E8 4TS,meringuegirls.co.uk/masterclass, booking: hello@meringuegirls.co.uk)

 

Their second book  ‘Meringue Girls Everything Sweet has jsut been  just published 

Read Next: